Advice For Artists Who Want To Sell Their Home

Yesterday an artist who is preparing to sell her home posed this question to me:

It will be interesting to get your input on this place since my studio encompasses what would normally be someone else’s living room and dining room.

If you also relate to this question, chances are you are one of us creative types.

Here was my reply:

I’ve been sitting here smiling as I think about your living room and dining room. My own family room is dominated by a giant vintage drafting table – among other less traditional family/living room furnishings. The wood stove and French doors make it a great place to work. My home’s original living room is actually on the other side of the house and looks out over the meadow to the river. When this cottage home was built in 1938, the back of the house faced the road and the porch faced the river – like a modern vacation home faces the money view. Most of my friends never saw my original living room. Everyone gathered in the cottage’s kitchen so  eventually I made the living room into my bedroom. I treasure the fireplace, exterior door and old fashioned porch as my bedroom’s best features! I never tire of this view:

Selling The Artist’s Home -

A sculpture artist pal of mine worried about selling her Colorado home when they began thinking about returning to Portland. (True, she listed her home during a better financial market, but January 1st is not traditionally considered a good time to be presenting real estate.)

I always remember what her realtor said about her home, “Don’t worry. Even if they don’t understand it, most people are curious to see what art is being created in a space, and to see what art is collected by an artist.” My friend de-cluttered everything into boxes and stored them in the garage. She only removed one extremely large painting because it was very bright and dominated the room, but all other art work and projects stayed in place. They had a full offer, with a back up offer within a few days!

Just neaten up rooms and deal with artistic clutter the best you can. This isn’t absolutely necessary for photos, but for showings I will add;
Arrange an inviting nook in each room where the non-artist subconsciously feels the familiar comfort of whatever the rooms normal use would be, but feel free to leave the core of how you currently work and use the room. I think this invites a persons imagination to tour along with them – actively or subliminally (not everyone is on a personal level with their own imagination). Allow your home’s warmth and soul to light up these potential buyers.

Your home will stand out and speak to the right buyer. It is important to remember just as any other home, an artist’s home will not, cannot, appeal to everyone.

The hardest thing for me is to keep a flat surface empty! I somehow constantly pull out something I haven’t admired in awhile and I am always changing things up. It works for me, (and drives my minimalist friends to congregate elsewhere!)

I’m heading outside to enjoy this incredible Oregon morning . . .

kris tabor photography art artist selling your home advice marketing real estate Oregon

Leave a Reply

